CERAMICHE MINGHETTI

Bologna - ITALY, 1858 - 1967

The Manufactory was started in 1858 by Angelo Minghetti, after several years of experience at the Società Cooperativa di Imola, and later run by his sons and a nephew until 1931. The company specialized in the imitation of the ceramics of the 15th and 16th centuries (especially the Della Robbia’s ceramics) and obtained immediate success. Works were exhibited in Bologna in 1869, at the International World Exhibition in London (1870), in Rome (1870 and 1883), Vienna (1873), Paris (1878 and 1900), Turin (1880, 1884 and 1902), St.Louis (1904). The wide repertoire ranges from altarpieces to jugs, from dinnerware to small busts, from stoups to pierced lacework ‘crespina’ bowls in the predominant colours of blue, white, yellow and green. The historical heritage was remarkably updated according to the new tendencies in line with the pre-raphaelite taste. A vase more than two metres high was exhibited in Vienna, and another work to be highlighted is the dinnerware composed of about nine hundred pieces, realized for the Duke of Montpensier. The factory cooperated with Alfonso Rubbiani in the San Francesco Church in Bologna and in the Stuky chapel in Venice. The company, established as Ceramiche Artistiche Angelo Minghetti, Sons & Co., in 1908, became a cooperative society in 1920, with the name Soc. An. Coop. Ceramiche Minghetti. Since 1931 none of the family members have been in the company management. The company has repeatedly moved and changed production, to keep pace with the times, until the complete closure of the factory in 1967 and of the shop in 1989.